Pinterest Hidden ImagePinterest Hidden Image

Discover steamy Alaska romance books here. These enchanting books showcase this picturesque yet brooding setting where nature necessarily plays such a huge role in the plot. Your heart will be warmed in the cold. Fall in L-O-V-E with the top romance novels below.

romance novels set in alaska.

List of the Best Alaska Romance Books

  1. The Great Alone: best for fans of emotional historical fiction
  2. The Simple Wild: best for fans of modern romance fiction
  3. The Snow Child: best for readerss of Where the Crawdads Sing and The Giver of Stars
  4. The Tourist Attraction: best for fans of Gilmore Girls and romantic comedies
  5. The Unsinkable Greta James: best for readers of light dramatic romance

Spicy Alaska Romance Novel Reviews

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

  • #1 New York Times instant bestseller

My Review: ★★★★★

Best for fans of emotional historical fiction

The Great Alone‘s moody Alaska setting sets the stage for one extremely emotional love story. This is a book of family, love, and survival set in a harsh climate. While teen Leni’s family grapples with the PTSD of her father, Ernt, a recent POW in Vietnam, she befriends a local boy.

As the long and brutal winter approaches, Leni’s friendship blossoms into more. At the same time, life becomes a battle against nature in a series of very dramatic and consequential events.

The Great Alone has stayed with me since I first read it. On numerous occasions, I have searched “Alaska 1970s” to get a clear picture of the alluring state that became the backdrop for 13-year-old Leni’s love life.

It’s a breathtaking story about love and survival in the wilderness, which is both beautiful and devastating.

Related Post: The Great Alone Review


The Simple Wild by K. A. Tucker

My Review: ★★★★☆

Best for fans of modern romance fiction

The Simple Wild is a social media favorite that begins a series of four romance books. Calla is a 26-year-old city girl reconnecting with her estranged, ill father on the Alaskan land where she was born.

While braving the wilderness in order to connect with her father, she meets Jonah, a quiet and brooding Alaskan pilot who operates her father’s charter plane company.

Jonah doesn’t think Calla can “handle” Alaska, but Calla becomes determined to prove him wrong. As time passes, they form a bond. But Calla’s heart is in Toronto, and Jonah’s heart is in Alaska. Calla knows her parents failed in these exact circumstances years ago.

The “wild” is not so simple after all! It’s a solid opposites-attract contemporary romance novel that leaves you wanting to read the full book series.


The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

  • Pulitzer Prize Finalist

My Review: ★★★☆☆

Best for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and The Giver of Stars

The Snow Child is one of the best Winter books. Set in 1920, the Alaskan landscape has been harsh on Jack and Mabel, a childless couple drifting apart. As Jack crumbles under the weight of running their farm, Mabel feels isolated and lonely.

During the season’s first snowfall, they build a snow “child.” Although the snow child is gone by the next morning, a young blond girl of the wilderness, Faina, is seen running through the trees.

Faina seems to have appeared from the pages of a fairy tale, yet Jack and Mabel begin to love her as their daughter. Alaska can be both a violent and mysterious place, but Faina transforms them all.

I recommend this magically real book to fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, as it has a very similar character arc and shares the historical backdrop of women in The Giver of Stars.


The Tourist Attraction by Sarah Morgenthaler

  • Amazon Editors’ Pick for Best Romance

My Review: ★★★☆☆

Best for fans of Gilmore Girls and romantic comedies

The Tourist Attraction is a small-town romantic comedy series reminiscent of Gilmore Girls. It has a quirky diner called “The Tourist Trap” and loveable characters — including a rogue moose.

Zoey is on her dream two-week vacation in Alaska when she visits Graham’s diner. He’s a grumpy local who’s unenthused about serving food to visitors. But Zoey is so sunny and kind, humorously interacting with the locals, that she may change his heart.

It’s a lighthearted story that’s romantic (but not too steamy) and keeps you entertained amidst its unique Alaskan setting.


The Unsinkable Greta James by Jennifer E. Smith

My Review: ★★★☆☆

Best for fans of light dramatic romance

In The Unsinkable Greta James, music star Greta James falls apart on stage after her mother’s sudden death. Still, she agrees to go on an Alaskan cruise with her unsupportive father, which was supposed to be a wedding anniversary celebration.

The trip ends up becoming a journey of self-discovery when Greta befriends a handsome historian lecturing on “The Call of the Wild.” Ultimately, she must decide how to cope with her past and move forward in her future.

Despite sounding heavy, it’s a fairly light and realistic mix of real life and romantic love that takes its Alaskan setting “on board.”

Frequently Asked Questions

What is The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker about?

The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker follows Calla Fletcher, a city girl who reconnects with her estranged, dying father in the Alaskan wilderness. This leads to unexpected personal growth and romance.

Is The Snow Child a good book?

Yes. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey is a Pulitzer Prize finalist that’s a good choice for fans of magical realism, winter settings, Where the Crawdads Sing, and The Giver of Stars.

Is there romance in The Great Alone?

Yes, The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah features a developing relationship between teens Leni Allbright and Matthew Walker, set against the backdrop of their challenging lives in the Alaskan wilderness.

What is The Unsinkable Greta James about?

The Unsinkable Greta James by Jennifer E. Smith follows a struggling musician who embarks on an Alaskan cruise with her estranged father after her mother’s death, leading to healing and self-discovery amidst the scenic backdrop and unexpected romance.

Conclusion

The best Alaska romance books steam things up by making the cold yet beautiful setting part of the plot. My top pick is The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah, a gripping, bestselling historical fiction novel I still think about years later.

Save This Post Form

Save This Post!

Email yourself a link to this post so you can come back to it later.

By saving, you agree to receive email updates. Unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *