Pinterest Hidden Image

Get top recommendations for shocking books like Verity by Colleen Hoover. These psychological thrillers all have romantic suspense, unreliable female leads, dark content, and surprising twists. Your jaw will be on the floor at the end of these psychological thrillers, so let’s cure your book hangover with another great book!

verity by colleen hoover being pulled from a bookshelf.

Top 3 Books Like Verity: The Silent Patient and More

BEST BOOKS LIKE VERITY

The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine: a bestseller on The Literary Lifestyle, centered on two untrustworthy women vying for one man

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: the original modern thriller with an unreliable female at the heart of the story

The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides: a mega-bestselling fast-paced thriller with a silent female protagonist and an epic plot twist

The Full List of Thrilling Romance Books Similar to Verity

  1. The Ghostwriter by Allessandra Torre
  2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  3. The Housemaid by Freida McFadden
  4. The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine
  5. Layla by Colleen Hoover
  6. Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
  7. Misery by Stephen King
  8. None of This is True by Lisa Jewell
  9. The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda
  10. The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz
  11. The Push by Ashley Audrain
  12. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  13. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
  14.  The Villa by Rachel Hawkins
  15. We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
  16. When We Were Bright and Beautiful by Jillian Medoff
  17. The Whispers by Ashley Audrain
  18. The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
  19. The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins
  20. Yellowface by R.F. Kuang

About Verity: Colleen Hoover’s Psychological Thriller

  • #1 New York Times bestseller
  • USA Today bestseller

My Review: ★★★★★

Verity is a different type of Colleen Hoover book. But, it’s undoubtedly one of the best Colleen Hoover books. It’s also hugely popular with readers of The Literary Lifestyle and social media readers worldwide.

To refresh your memory, in Verity, author Verity Crawford has sustained terrible injuries in an accident. She cannot finish writing her books. Her husband, Jeremy, hires struggling writer Lowen Ashleigh to act as a ghostwriter.

As Lowen sorts through Verity’s materials, she finds Verity’s autobiography. It’s filled with an array of chilling events sure to make you gasp.

At the same time, Lowen develops feelings for Jeremy. Strange things begin to happen, leaving you questioning everything you thought you knew about Verity.

Personally, I read this book in one sitting, on a plane, and I left the experience utterly blown away—from the dark secrets to the suspense and plot twists. My jaw was on the floor.

Reviews of Thrillers That Rival Verity to Help You Choose

These books like Verity contain the following similarities for you to enjoy:

  • Psychological thriller
  • Romantic suspense novel
  • Unreliable female characters
  • Dark and disturbing plots
  • Shocking twists
  • Characters who are writers and journalists

The Ghostwriter by Allessandra Torre

The Ghostwriter is reminiscent of Verity because it’s about a bestselling writer telling her life story via a ghostwriter. She’s told a huge lie to the police, as well as her friends and family. She’s now determined to write one last jaw-dropping story about how her husband died.


Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  • #1 New York Times bestseller
  • One of the most influential books of the decade by CNN
  • One of TIMES and Entertainment Weekly’s best fiction books of the decade

Gone Girl is one of the most shocking and sinister books about an unreliable female narrator. I stayed up all night finishing this one.

It’s about a wife who goes missing on her 5th wedding anniversary. The husband becomes the main suspect in her disappearance as the evidence unfolds and all points towards him.

Secrets unravel and show true intentions. This blurs the line between victim and perpetrator. It leads to a heart-stopping conclusion that challenges the idea of innocence and guilt — just like Verity.


The Housemaid by Freida McFadden

  • New York Times and USA Today bestseller 
  • TikTok sensation

The Housemaid is a fan-favorite book similar to Verity, so pick it up if you like to very popular reads.

When a young woman takes a job as a housemaid for a wealthy family, she quickly finds herself entangled in a sinister plot.

As secrets begin to unravel and true intentions are revealed, the line between victim and perpetrator blurs, leading to a heart-stopping conclusion that challenges the very notion of innocence and guilt — just like Verity.


The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

The Last Mrs. Parrish has consistently been one of the bestselling books on The Literary Lifestyle for several years.

The main character, Amber, is a woman with a plan for a bigger life — to take over the life of wealthy Daphne Parrish and become the new Mrs. Parrish. Amber and Daphne become friends. Then, the pieces of Amber’s plans start to fall into place. But, they have unexpected results.

I recommend this book if you want a very female-based thriller with untrustworthy women vying for one man, in the vein of Verity. It delivers on all its promises and makes for a really satisfying reads.

Related Post: Guide to The Last Mrs. Parrish Series


Layla by Colleen Hoover

  • Wall Street Journal bestseller 
  • USA Today bestseller

Layla is included on this list of books like Verity because it’s the other best Colleen Hoover thriller book. This one likewise has suspense and an unreliable female lead.

Leeds wants to spend his life with Layla, but he’s torn because she was left a different woman as the result of a violent attack. So, they retreat to a “bed and breakfast.” There, Layla’s behavior becomes downright bizarre

That’s not the only odd thing happening in this place. When Leeds meets a “guest” (a ghost) named Willow there, he starts falling for her. This leads to him learning the truth about what happened to Layla and the strange occurrences.

The twist this one takes is super suspenseful and satisfying if you don’t mind a little paranormal activity. The final scenes are downright wild.

For more, read my full summary of Layla.


Lock Every Door by Riley Sager

Instant New York Times bestseller

Lock Every Door isn’t totally like Verity, but this Riley Sager book still feels similar to me. There are unexplained events that happen in a residence, and the reader doesn’t know who to trust.

Twentysomething Jules feels like she hit the lottery when she gets a job apartment sitting at the renowned New York City building. But the building’s rules are odd: No visitors. No nights spent away from the apartment. No disturbing the other rich and famous residents.

Then, things get even weirder. Another apartment sitter in the building goes missing and leaves behind a note: Be careful.

In her quest to find Ingrid, Jules digs into the building’s sordid past, which catches up with the present. A major twist, like Verity, leaves her fighting for her life. Since the events occur close to home, it offers a really creepy vibe.


Misery by Stephen King

#1 New York Times bestseller

Like Verity, Misery is a thriller about a bestselling novelist, Paul Sheldon. He’s just killed off the beloved protagonist of his popular romance books.

After a near-fatal car crash, Paul is nursed back to health by his biggest fan, Annie. But she is upset about the direction of his writing and will go to any extreme to get what she wants from him. This is one of the bestselling Stephen King novels.


None of This Is True by Lisa Jewell

Instant New York Times bestseller

None of This Is True is about a woman who infiltrates the life of a wealthy podcast host. When she reveals her life story for the show, multiple people are left dead.

Like Verity, the story unveiled is one of a dark and disturbing home life. It takes you on a really twisted ride. Then, it leaves the reader questioning whether the woman is a good mother and what is real. You’ll simply love the thought-provoking ending.

It’s a great choice for fans of true crime podcasts and/or documentaries, as it’s told in that format. For this reason, it works great on audio!

Related Post: None of This Is True Discussion Questions


The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

The Perfect Stranger is another “writer thriller” about a journalist named Leah. She moves in with an old friend named Emmy for the chance to start over and leave her past behind.

But when Emmy disappears, Leah finds herself the target of the police investigation. She must uncover the truth about Leah, which is dark and twisted, like Verity.


The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz

The Plot is another thriller involving writers. Like Verity, it also moves in different, shocking directions along the way.

It’s about a once-respected author and current teacher. He uses the fictional plot idea of a student who died in order to earn his way back into literary fame and fortune.

It seems to be working until he starts receiving threatening anonymous messages. His anxiety causes him to investigate the truth behind the story. Like Verity, it’s one of the most unique thrillers I’ve read to date, making literary crime feel as gripping as violent crime.


The Push by Ashley Audrain

The Push reminds me of Verity because it’s a shocking thriller with dark themes involving motherhood.

Blythe is a mother who believes her first child, Violet, may be evil at her core, but she bonds with her son, Sam. She struggles to figure out the truth about Violet while navigating these unfavorable feelings. Ultimately, the reader is left questioning what’s real and who is good and evil, just like Verity.

It’s the kind of thriller that really makes you think about life and motherhood. It tackles generational trauma through thrilling thoughts and actions that feel chilling yet also real. You’ll want to talk about it with other readers.

Read More: Guide to Ashley Audrain’s Books


Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again…”

– Daphne du Maurier

So begins the classic suspense novel Rebecca. It’s a slow burn, both creepy and atmospheric, as the reader never meets Rebecca, who has already died. This is similar to how Verity is a major character but not communicative.

A lower-class female servant quickly marries Rebecca’s wealthy older widow. She then moves to his swoon-worthy estate, Manderley. Upon arrival, his deceased first wife, Rebecca, lingers in the memories of the staff.

The questions are whether there was more to Rebecca’s death and whether she was good or evil, like Verity. Similar to Verity, the last 100 pages of Rebecca also leave you wanting more.

If you’re a big fan of thrillers, it’s a classic must-read. The vibes are so spooky!


The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Instant #1 New York Times bestseller

The Silent Patient is a massively popular, page-turning thriller. It contains a really amazing twist and a “silent” major character, like Verity.

Famous painter Alicia shot her fashion photographer husband five times in the face, then never spoke another word again. But criminal psychotherapist Theo Faber is determined to get her to talk. In the process, he goes down a twisted path of revealing why he is so consumed with her silence.

Read this one if you like popular books with crazy plot twists. You can easily read it in one sitting, and it will leave your jaw on the floor when you’re done.

Related Posts: Summary of The Silent Patient | Alex Michaelides Books in Order


The Villa by Rachel Hawkins

Instant New York Times bestseller

In The Villa, Emily and Chess are thirtysomething writers with a strained friendship. They reunite for a trip to Italy.

Back in 1974, their villa was rented by a famous rockstar who invited a musician to stay there with his girlfriend and his girlfriend’s stepsister. One ended up writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, one composed a platinum album, and one was brutally murdered.

As Emily dives into the villa’s storied past, she also finds herself at odds with Emily. When secrets and betrayals are revealed, the past threatens to repeat itself.

Like I did with Verity, I read this book in one day! It’s quick, yet fully developed and extremely twisty, both in the past and present storylines. It also involves writers and questions about their writings, just like Verity.


We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

We Have Always Lived in the Castle is one of the most disturbing books like Verity. I mean, just look at that book cover!

Teenager Merricat lives with her ill uncle and agoraphobic sister, Constance, in an isolated New England home.

Six years earlier the three survived a tragedy, similar to Verity. But, this one left Constance on trial for murder.

When their cousin Charles visits, they sense danger. Once again, their lives spiral out of control. This is similar to how the household in Verity degrades when Lowen enters. It’s truly a masterful, creepy thriller you won’t soon forget.


When We Were Bright and Beautiful by Jillian Medoff

When We Were Bright and Beautiful is a dark family drama that, like Verity, is an unputdownable book. I flew through it.

The son of a rich family is a college student on trial for rape. His adopted sibling, Cassie, narrates the courtroom drama. Her mind is full of confusing questions about whether her brother did it.

The process of learning whether he will be found guilty or not guilty is extremely suspenseful.

Extremely dark family secrets are also revealed, like Verity. This one also leaves the reader with A LOT to unpack about the storyline and the characters, who are quite troubled. It makes you think about the long-term impacts of trauma and how they present themselves in real life.


The Whispers by Ashley Audrain

In The Whispers, a wealthy neighborhood hosts a Summer barbecue. There, the prim and proper hostess loses her temper with her son. Later, the boy falls from his window. His life remains in jeopardy, as his mother sits by his side and refuses to speak.

Over the coming days, everyone present at the barbecue must dig deep beneath the surface to figure out what led to this fateful event. Was it accidental, attempted suicide, or even criminal at the hands of his volatile mother?

As you can probably tell, the main comparison this book has to Verity is the ultimate question of whether the mother did something physically bad to her child.

This one delivers a great story. It has suspense, mystery, and drama. It also moves fast and has a shocking end. It’s a dark, yet superb read that feels like it could be real.


The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Instant New York Times bestseller

The Wife Between Us totally delivers on twists and unreliable female narrators. It’s a romantic suspense novel that’s similar to Verity.

A naive teacher named Nellie feels like she is being followed as she plans her wedding to an older man, Richard. Previously, Richard had dumped his first wife, Vanessa. He left her forced to start over from the bottom, and she is now determined to stop his wedding.

Like Verity, the twists come in how the story is told. It really surprised me! It will keep you intrigued throughout, as it’s quite different from many other thrillers.


The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

  • Instant New York Times bestseller
  • USA Today bestseller

The Wife Upstairs is a re-telling of the classic Jane Eyre. It stars two women (one reported to be dead) and one romantic lead, similar to Verity.

Jane is a broke dog walker to the rich in Birmingham, Alabama, stealing from her employers. But when she meets Eddie, a recent young widower in the wealthy community where she works, she thinks her luck has turned a corner. She sets out to date and marry him.

Eddie’s wife, Bea, was renowned for her work, like Verity. She had a rag-to-riches Southern lifestyle brand. But, she drowned in a boating accident with her best friend.

As Jane and Eddie fall deeper in love, she feels haunted by Bea’s absence. This is similar to how Lowen felt haunted by Verity the closer she got to Jeremy.

It’s a twisted love triangle with some plot points that will surprise you. The story is super intriguing, and the author translated it really well in a modern context. It felt both haunting and fresh.


Yellowface by R.F Kuang

  • Instant New York Times bestseller
  • Reese’s Book Club pick

Yellowface takes the modern female writer thriller trope and pushes it to the next level. It goes beyond gratuitous crime and tackles diversity as the suspense builds.

Like Verity, it’s about a struggling female writer who adapts the work of her successful author friend, an AAPI woman, after a tragedy. It weaves in even more thought-provoking plot lines about who owns a story. It also offers a behind-the-scenes look at book publishing and internet scandals.

When the ghost of the more successful friend begins to haunt the ghostwriter, you can’t put this book down. It also makes you ponder heavier themes. Yes, it’s just as good as everyone says it is.

Frequently Asked Questions

What makes these books similar to Verity by Colleen Hoover?

Books like Verity by Colleen Hoover are psychological thrillers with romance, unreliable female leads, dark and disturbing plots, shocking twists, and/or characters who are writers and journalists.

How do these books compare in terms of suspense and plot twists?

Books like Verity by Colleen Hoover similarly deliver lots of suspense as the plot builds, as well as completely unexpected plot twists.

Are there any psychological thrillers on the list?

Yes. Books like Verity by Colleen Hoover are psychological thrillers that emphasize the mental and emotional states of their characters, weaving together suspense and mystery. They explore themes like deception, obsession, and paranoia that delve deep into the psyche.

Which of these books also feature strong female protagonists?

Books like Verity by Colleen Hoover that feature strong female protagonists include None of This Is True by Lisa Jewell, The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, and more.

What should I read if I like Verity?

If you like Verity by Colleen Hoover, you should read psychological thrillers with unreliable female leads and shocking twists, such as The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, The Push by Ashley Audrain, and more.

Is there a second book for Verity?

There is no sequel, or second book, to Verity by Colleen Hoover. However, there is a Special Collector’s Edition with a bonus chapter that briefly continues the story.

Conclusion

The best books like Verity by Colleen Hoover are psychological thrillers. They emphasize the mental and emotional states of their characters. They also weave together suspense and mystery with romance, unreliable female leads, dark and disturbing plots, shocking twists, and/or characters who are writers and journalists.

This is a good book list for those who want books that are impossible to put down and leave your jaw on the floor.

SHOP THE TOP 3

To recap and help you decide what book recommendations you should read first or next, the top 3 best books to read if you liked Verity are:

  1. The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine
  2. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  3. The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
Save This Post Form

Save This Post!

Email yourself a link to this post so you can come back to it later.

By saving, you agree to receive email updates. Unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 Comments

  1. Thanks! I think I am gonna just go down the list and read them all, lol. I’ve read a few of them already.