Pinterest Hidden ImagePinterest Hidden Image

Explore this guide to Carley Fortune’s books for popular summer romances that readers love. Learn all about her book list and get reviews for all of this bestselling romance author‘s books to guide your own reading experience. You’ll be glad you got the scoop ahead of time, so let’s get literary!

Every summer after by Carley Fortune in front of a bookshelf.

All Carley Fortune Books in Order

carley fortune books in order.

In order of publication:

  1. Every Summer After (2022)
  2. Meet Me at the Lake (2023)
  3. This Summer Will Be Different (2024; Carley Fortune’s New Book)

Below are how I rank her books beginning with my favorite (though I rated ALL of them four out of five stars):

  1. This Summer Will Be Different: forbidden romance best for book lovers
  2. Every Summer After: (most popular) friends-to-lovers romance best for nostalgia and vintage lake vibes
  3. Meet Me at the Lake: second chance romance best for fans of Dirty Dancing

Tips for Reading Carley Fortune’s Summer Romance Novels


  • Carley Fortune is known for modern adult romance novels set at summery Canadian locations.
  • You can start reading by reading any of Carley Fortune’s books since they are all unrelated standalone novels.
  • These books are best for adults, as they contain spicy romance and adult language and situations.
  • I liked This Summer Will Be Different the best because it has lots of Anne of Green Gables and book references, as well as a picturesque Prince Edward Island setting.
  • I found myself more immersed in her books when I read the ebook versus the audio version.

Summaries and Reviews of Carley Fortune’s Books

Every Summer After: A Nostalgic Friends-to Lovers Romance

  • New York Times bestseller
  • Named one of the Hottest Reads of Summer 2022 by Today, Parade, PopSugar, USA Today, SheReads, BuzzFeed, BookBub, Bustle, and more

My Review: ★★★★☆

Every Summer After has become one of the most widely beloved summer romance books because it so emotionally captures the nostalgia of first love and the hope of second chances with likable characters.

This small-town romance novel is set during six Summers in Barry’s Bay. There, teenagers Persephone and Sam fall madly in love. Then, one Thanksgiving, something happens that tears them apart—seemingly for good.

Years later, though, when Persephone returns for Sam’s mother’s funeral, she must determine how she feels about him now, after so much time has passed.

This insanely popular book balances many elements of a great book just right, from friendship to love, angst, and family drama. It totally lived up to the hype. And I definitely think you will love it as much as everyone else does!

Like many romance readers, my freelance writer also found it to be “absolutely stunning” and the best debut novel she’s read. She finished it in three days.

As a “lake girl” herself, she found the setting to be portrayed perfectly. She also thought Fortune did a tremendous job at portraying young first love with honesty, passion, and vulnerability.

Read this book if you want a summer read that’s almost guaranteed to please.

Related Post: Every Summer After Summary

Meet Me at the Lake: A Dirty Dancing-Inspired Second Chance Romance

  • Instant #1 New York Times bestseller

My Review: ★★★★☆

Meet Me at the Lake is a beautiful story of love, loss, and difficult life decisions.

Years earlier, Fern and Will had a memorable one-day adventure in the city that really left its mark on Fern. But, Will never showed up to their meeting one year later.

Years later, Fern is back at home, running her mother’s run-down lakeside resort. Think: Dirty Dancing. My freelance writer also felt nods to The Notebook, from the passionate love connection to even the canoeing.

Will appears to help, but he’s a completely different person now. Only Fern may rescue him and determine exactly what lies beneath the surface.

Fern and Will are both likable characters dealing with very real-life issues: where to settle permanently, how to deal with past partners, and how to navigate nontraditional family relationships.

It’s another magical mix of nostalgia and second chances. It also has its fair share of family drama and another lake setting the reader can clearly envision.

Meet Me at the Lake was not quite as impactful as Every Summer After, but it still lived up to my expectations for a sizzling summer story about love and family.

My freelance writer found it to have depth and relatable, three-dimensional characters. They felt like real people with real issues who also happened to have a connection.

She found the second half of this story to be far more gripping than the first half and recommends this book for any summer romance lover or for those who are “lake girls” at heart.

This Summer Will Be Different (Carley Fortune’s New Book): A Beachy Forbidden Romance

  • Instant #1 New York Times bestseller

My Review: ★★★★☆

Carley Fortune’s new book is This Summer Will Be Different. is one of the most anticipated books of the year. (Publication Date: May 7, 2024)

This Summer Will Be Different transports the reader to Prince Edward Island for a picturesque love story with countless nods to Anne of Green Gables. Beyond that, there’s a swoon-worthy male main character who is an avid book reader. Carley Fortune knows how to hook us with a good beach read!

Years ago, while visiting her best friend Bridget’s beach house, Lucy had an electrifying rendezvous with Bridget’s brother, Felix. The problem? Bridget specifically forbade Lucy from falling in love with him. Over the years, their chemistry remains both palpable and secret.

Now, Bridget is getting married, and she frantically calls Lucy and Felix to the beach house just days before the wedding to help her cope with her own secret. Lucy and Felix must confront their feelings again as they deal with everyone’s secrets.

This book made me want to jump on a plane to Prince Edward Island! It’s a love letter to bookworms in addition to being a tantalizing summer romance.

Bridget guards her secret for most of the book, which both keeps you engaged and makes you want to scream at her! Likewise, Lucy really needs to come clean with the truth. They aren’t perfect, but they sure are entertaining.

There is also a good deal of spice for the steamy romance readers out there. It’s an excellent summer read and my favorite Carley Fortune book to date.

About Carley Fortune


Prior to fiction writing, Carley Fortune was an award-winning journalist and worked as an editor at some of Canada’s top publications. Recently, she also worked as the Executive Editor of Refinery29 Canada.

Read The Everygirl’s exclusive interview with Carley Fortune for more.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Every Summer After appropriate for 13 year olds?

No. Every Summer After by Carley Fortune is an adult romance novel.

Is Meet Me at the Lake appropriate?

Meet Me at the Lake is appropriate for adults. It is an adult romance novel with adult content, themes, and situations, including love and grief.

Where did Carley Fortune go to school?

Carley Fortune’s website states that she holds a Bachelor of Journalism from Toronto Metropolitan University. 

Is Meet Me at the Lake the second book to Every Summer After?

Meet Me at the Lake is Carley Fortune’s second book. However, it is a standalone novel with no connection to her first novel, Every Summer After.


Carley Fortune’s books are Every Summer After (2022; popular pick), Meet Me at the Lake (2023), and This Summer Will Be Different (2024). If you like modern, emotional, and immersive summer love stories, you will love these books.


Save This Post Form

Save This Post!

Email yourself a link to this post so you can come back to it later.

By saving, you agree to receive email updates. Unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *