Pinterest Hidden Image

If new adult romance fiction books about coming-of-age sound interesting to you, then you’ll love this guide to the Colleen Hoover Hopeless series. You’ll learn the series order and so much more to guide you through your reading experience, so let’s get literary!

hopeless by colleen hoover on bookshelf with colleen hoover books.

Colleen Hoover Hopeless Series Order

Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless series of five books is about three couples coming of age and finding hope in life and love amidst difficult circumstances.

For the best reading experience, you should read these Colleen Hoover books in order of publication:

  1. Hopeless (2012): a novel that focuses on Sky and Holder
  2. Losing Hope (2013): a novel that focuses on Sky and Holder
  3. Finding Cinderella (2013): a novella that focuses on Daniel and Six, who were supporting characters in books 1 and 2
  4. All Your Perfects (2018): a novel that focuses on Quinn and Graham
  5. Finding Perfect (2019): a novella that focuses on Daniel and Six

However, All Your Perfects can also be read separately as a standalone novel.

Age Rating: The age rating for the Hopeless series is for mature adults ages 17 and older, as the storyline incorporates very complex life experiences. The sexual content may also be triggering to some people.

Quick Summaries and Reviews

Hopeless (Book 1 of 5)

#1 New York Times bestseller

  • Trigger Warnings: child sexual abuse, suicide, and incest
  • Spice Level: 2 out of 5

Hopeless follows Sky, a sheltered former foster child who is entering public school for her senior year after being homeschooled her whole life, and Holder, the brooding bad boy who seems to have a secretive past.

Sky and Holder are initially drawn together by lust, but Holder’s mood swings begin to confuse Sky.  As the skeletons come out of each of their closets, both the past and the present become much clearer for this young couple. 

This book features a common characteristic of Hoover’s work: a couple drawn together by lust have some deep secrets that expose their most vulnerable sides.  It also contains the spicy scenes that aided in making Hoover the household name she’s become. 

Losing Hope (Book 2 of 5)

GoodReads Choice Award Nominee

  • Trigger Warnings: child sexual abuse, suicide, and incest
  • Spice Level: 2 out of 5

Losing Hope continues Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless series from Holder’s point of view on the exact plot of the first book.

And, it’s vastly different from Sky’s.  Additionally, Hoover explains Holder’s actions, which so seemed bewildering in Hopeless, allowing the reader to see him in another light.

It’s a must-read for fans of Sky and Holder.

Finding Cinderella (Book 3 of 5)

  • Trigger Warnings: pregnancy, miscarriage
  • Spice Level: 2 out of 5

Finding Cinderella is a novella that features two supporting characters from the first two books in Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless series: Daniel and Six.  

Holder’s friend, Daniel, has a steamy encounter with a classmate in their high school’s maintenance closet.  While the couple barely speak and never learn one another’s names, they do agree to pretend they are madly in love for this one-time hookup.

Daniel moves on but is unable to shake the thoughts of his mystery woman and how perfect their encounter was.

A year later, Sky’s best friend, Six, returns from studying abroad, and her quick wit and sarcasm are a perfect match for Daniel. He finds himself comparing her to his mystery lover.

This lighthearted read features new and unexpected love, some steamy scenes, and lots of witty banter.  The reader’s old friends from the first two books, Holder and Sky, are also incorporated in a good amount of the story.

All Your Perfects (Book 4 of 5)

Instant New York Times bestseller

  • Trigger Warnings: infidelity, miscarriage, infertility
  • Spice Level: 4 out of 5

All Your Perfects can be read as a standalone; however, the characters are also featured in the fifth and final book in the Hopeless series.

One of Colleen Hoover’s spiciest books, this is the traumatic tale of Quinn and Graham, a once-perfect couple who now have an imperfect marriage.

Their future depends on promises made in the past — before they endured years of imperfections, and the question is whether they can overcome their faults.

It’s an emotionally difficult, but popular, read, especially for fans of spice.

Finding Perfect (Book 5 of 5)

  • Trigger Warnings: pregnancy, miscarriage, infertility, adoption
  • Spice Level: 0 out of 5

Finding Perfect is a novella that concludes Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless series. Told from the point of view of Daniel, this story focuses on his and Six’s relationship and brings in characters from All Your Perfects as well.

Warning: There are some plot spoilers below.

Daniel and Six are both in a bit of a funk, and Six finally explains to Daniel that it’s because she placed their child for adoption while studying abroad. She has no contact with the adoptive parents, so she lacks closure and feels unfulfilled and depressed.  

Daniel then goes on a one-man mission to get information for Six and show her that their son is happy and healthy with his new parents. 

It’s a quick read that can be devoured in one sitting, and it ties up loose ends in this great book series. However, it should also be noted that adoption can be a much more sensitive and complicated topic in real life than is depicted in this story.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many books are in the Hopeless series?

There are five books in Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless book series: Hopeless, Losing Hope, Finding Cinderella, All Your Perfects, and Finding Perfect.

What order should I read the Hopeless series?

For the best reading experience, you should read the Colleen Hoover Hopeless series in order of publication: Hopeless (2012), Losing Hope (2013), Finding Cinderella (2013), All Your Perfects (2018), and Finding Perfect (2019). However, All Your Perfects may also be read separately as a standalone novel.

Is All Your Perfects part of the Hopeless series?

Yes. All Your Perfects by Colleen Hoover is the fourth of five books in the Hopeless book series. It focuses on Quinn and Graham, who are also minor characters in the fifth book.


Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless series is a five-book series that can be characterized as coming-of-age romance fiction. It’s best for mature adults aged 17 and over due to both triggering adult topics and sexual content. It’s also best read in order of publication; however, All Your Perfects may also be read separately as a standalone novel. Overall, it offers the theme of finding hope in difficult circumstances, which makes it popular with readers.

Save This Post Form

Save This Post!

Email yourself a link to this post so you can come back to it later.

By saving, you agree to receive email updates. Unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *