Pinterest Hidden ImagePinterest Hidden ImagePinterest Hidden Image

Get the Fourth Wing map fully explained here. There’s a high-resolution image, detailed notes, and even a printable PDF to take away with you. This guide will help you read of the Empyrean fantasy romance series by Rebecca Yarros so much more easily. So, let’s “fire” it up!

map inside the covers of fourth wing with the sequel book iron flame.

Fourth Wing Map Explained

I was influenced to dive into Fourth Wing by, well, EVERYONE on TikTok and social media, but I am a very logical person who usually struggles with learning about and understanding the worlds of fantasy books. So, I decided to take very detailed notes as I read this five-star book set in school at the fictional Basgiath War College.

Now, I’m sharing my own personal Kindle book highlights and notes on Fourth Wing to assist your own reading experience. It includes everything I read about the map of “The Continent,” as well as relevant battle locations, treaties, etc.

High-Resolution Image of The Empyrean World

fourth wing map

The Continent

Fourth Wing takes place in one Continent with two kingdoms. These kingdoms were at war for 400 years. Below we’ll fully explore:

  • The kingdom of Navarre (including Basgiath War College)
  • The kingdom of Poromiel
  • The Athebyne Outpost

Navarre (Including Basgiath War College)

  • Navarre is the larger kingdom, which is mountainous and produces ore, timber, deer, and elk. There are six provinces in Navarre:
    • Luceras is in the Northwest of The Continent.
    • Morraine is North and central in The Continent.
    • Elsum is just South and East of Morraine.
    • Deaconshire is in the center of Navarre.
      • Basgiath War College is near the center of Navarre. It contains the Parapet.
        • The Vale is the valley behind Basgiath War College where the dragons live.
    • Calldyr is West and central in The Continent.
    • Tyrrendor is in the Southwest of The Continent. It is the largest province in Navarre. To the West is the Emerald Sea, and to the South is the Arctile Ocean. The Cliffs of Dralor along the Southern coast act as a protective barrier. It was the last of the bordering provinces to join the alliance under King Reginald. And, it is the only province to attempt secession 627 years later.
      • Aretia was the capital, near the Cliffs of Dralor, and it was burned to the ground after the rebellion. July first is the anniversary of the Battle of Aretia, and it became known as Reunification Day by King Tauri to honor the lives lost and to save the kingdom from separatists and those saved by the Treaty of Aretia.


  • Poromiel is the smaller kingdom, consisting of arable plains and marshlands, textiles, fields of grain, gems.
    • Krovola is the province that shares a border to the East of Tyrrendor.
    • Braevick and Cygnisen are provinces to the West, with the Esben Mountains as a border.
      • The Esben Mountain Range is the highest along Braevick. It’s the least likely place for an attack; however, fighting is the most intense there.
    • The Barrens are deserted land along the East of The Continent.

Athebyne Outpost

The Kingdoms are bound by the Trade Agreement of Resson, signed 200 years prior to the time of Fourth Wing.

Per this Agreement, trades are made in Poromiel four times a year at the Athebyne outpost on the border of Krovla and Tyrrendor (the South central part of The Continent).

More about this area:

“The first known gryphon attack occurred in 1 AU ( After Unification ) near what is now the trading post of Resson. At the edge of the dragon-protected border, the post has always been vulnerable to attack and, over the course of the past six centuries, has changed hands no less than eleven times in what has become a never-ending war to secure our borders from our power-hungry enemies.”

The Treaty of Arif is “[T]he agreement between Navarre and Krovla for mutually shared airspace for both dragons and gryphons over a narrow strip of the Esben Mountains, between Sumerton and Draithus[.]”

Sumerton and Draithus are also in the South central part of The Continent.

More Fourth Wing Map Notes

The Battle of Gianfar, six centuries prior to the time of Fourth Wing, was crucial to the unification of Navarre:

“‘The stronghold was not only set for a siege, […] but was equipped with the first cross-bolt, which proved lethal against dragonkind. […] It was one of the final battles where gryphons and dragons actually worked alongside each other to annihilate the army of the Barrens.”

Printable PDF: Fourth Wing Map Cartography (and More)

fourth wing guide


Get your exclusive 10-page printable PDF Fourth Wing Guide when you subscribe to The Literary Lifestyle’s free email newsletter community.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Fourth Wing have a map?

Yes. The book Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros contains a two-page high-resolution map of “The Continent,” where the story takes place.

What is the country in the Fourth Wing?

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros takes place primarily in the country of Navarre at Basgiath War College, which is on “The Continent.” The other kingdom on “The Continent” is Poromiel.

What are the regions of Fourth Wing?

In Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros, “The Continent” has two kingdoms, Navarre and Poromiel. Navarre includes the regions Luceras, Morraine, Elsum, Deaconshire, Calldyr, and Tyrrendor. Poromiel includes the regions Krovola, Braevick, Cygnisen, and The Barrens.

What is the continent called in Fourth Wing?

“The Continent.” Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros takes place in the fantasy world called “The Continent.” It has two kingdoms, Navarre and Poromiel, which were at war for 400 years.

What are the 4 quadrants in Fourth Wing?

In Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros, Basgiath War College has four quadrants: riders, healers, scribes, and infantry. The main character, Violet Sorrengail, has prepared to enter as a scribe, but her mother compels her to be a rider.


This book guide to the Fourth Wing map, with my Kindle highlights and notes, aimed to assist and improve your reading and comprehension of the Empyrean series by Rebecca Yarros.

To recap a few of the main points, Fourth Wing takes place in one Continent with two kingdoms. These kingdoms, Navarre and Poromiel, were at war for 400 years. Basgiath War College is located in Navarre, and a lot of action also occurs at the Athebyne Outpost.

Do you need to order the sequel, Iron Flame, or book 3, Onyx Storm?

Save This Post Form

Save This Post!

Email yourself a link to this post so you can come back to it later.

By saving, you agree to receive email updates. Unsubscribe at any time.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *